A friend asked me when I would return to the Silent Matters blog and I realized that I needed to do some updating before I returned. A lot has changed since the last time I posted on this and I had actually forgotten about it. I guess the first thing I need to do is update you on my changes.

To summarize, in June I was called to pastor the Charlotte Deaf Mission of FBC Charlotte and we moved here the following month. It has been quite a fast two months here, but I am beginning to feel in my heart that it is home (never doubted it, but it takes time for you to get the feeling of home. Much like a dog will walk in circles 4 or 5 times before lying down to rest). Everyone here has done their best to make me and my family comfortable and the city is simply a jewel. The pastors in NC are very welcoming and supportive of each other. I have a great deal of respect for Donnie Wiltshire for his work and display of support for the deaf Baptists in Charlotte. It was a real pleasure meeting and dining with him. There is not enough space for me to write how much I thank God for the Deaf Mission. I like to say we gather at the Lord’s table every Sunday and Wednesdays to feast on the word and we always leave satisfied, but craving for more. “They said to each other, ‘Did not our hearts burn within us while he talked to us on the road, while he opened to us the Scriptures?'” (Acts 26:32)

To my beloved brothers and Sisters at Silent Friends Chapel, I miss you greatly and pray for you daily. Hope to see you this summer when Tonja’s nephew weds in Fort Worth.

