Vodpod videos no longer available.

This morning I was reading Al Mohler’s post on the government’s control of the school systems and parent’s lack of input in this. Dr. Mohler was citing a column by the Boston Globe’s Jeff Jacoby in which he quotes John Edwards regarding schools teaching same-sex marriage literature at an early age:

former senator John Edwards promptly replied. “I want my children . . . to be exposed to all the information . . . even in second grade . . . because I don’t want to impose my view. Nobody made me God. I don’t get to decide on behalf of my family or my children. . . . I don’t get to impose on them what it is that I believe is right.” None of the other candidates disagreed, even though most of them say they oppose same-sex marriage.

John Edwards does not think he should “impose” his views or beliefs on his own children. Seems that he means the best option is to leave it up to the world to bring up his children, but the Bible commands us to train our children “in the way he should go” (Prov 22:6). Maybe Edwards was saying that his children can make their own decisions in what is right and wrong, but again, the Bible tells us in Proverbs 29:15 that “A child left to himself brings shame to his mother.” Proverbs 29:15 also speaks of “the rod and reproof give wisdom” but this does not mean beatings, but if we look to 2 Timothy 3:16, we find Paul telling Timothy that Scripture can be used “for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness.” So we can see the rod as not for beating with (as many misunderstand), but for correction as the rod was used to turn sheep to the right path and for protection not to beat them with.

So, as Christian parents, we do not say we have a right to decide what our children learn, but we have a God-given command to raise our children in Truth for as we belong to children

