Hello, everyone! Jim Walterhouse here. I want to thank Dale for allowing me the privilege of posting on ‘Silent Matters’.

If you read the post that Dale made about me you will know that our family served as missionaries to the deaf in Mexico for nine years. Although I am now pastor of a deaf work in S. Texas, I am still involved in missions work in Mexico, and our oldest son and his family are now raising support to go to Mexico as missionaries to the deaf also. Missions is a subject that is very close to my heart, especially deaf missions. Without a doubt the greatest mission field in the world is the deaf community.

I want to encourage each of you to consider what your involvement should be in missions work. Not everyone can be a missionary in a foreign country, but everyone should have a part in foreign missions work. Let me share with you some ways that you can be involved in deaf missions:

1. The most important thing that you can do is PRAY FOR YOUR MISSIONARIES! Missionaries are not “SuperChristians”. They have the same aches and pains, the same worries, the same sin problems (!) and they even have to pay their bills like the rest of us do. Their cars break down, they have a ‘fit’ with the wife or husband once in a  while, they get discouraged, and they sometimes want to quit. Yes, missionaries need prayer!

2. Communicate with your missionaries! Get the e-mail or mailing addresses of some of the missionaries to the deaf and write to them. Let them know you are praying for them. Send them a ‘care package’ once in a while (Check with them first! Sometimes they have to pay heavy taxes on packages and it is better to just send them a special offering instead.) I cannot tell you how many times I felt alone and discouraged on the mission field and my day was brightened by one person who took time to write to me and tell me that they were praying for me.

3. Support your missionaries! Encourage your church to be involved in the Lottie Moon offering for missions. Consider special offerings for your missionaries from time to time.

4. Visit the mission field! Nothing will give you a ‘heart for missions’ like a visit to the mission field. Your life will be challenged and your viewpoint on life will be changed by a visit to the deaf missions and churches in other countries. Who knows, maybe God will call YOU to be a missionary to the deaf!

Let me close with this- the question is not ‘if’…, it is not ‘how’…, it is not ‘why’…, but it is WILL you be involved in deaf missions? Jesus said the field is ready for harvest, but the laborers are few. Let’s all do our part to share the Gospel with the deaf of the world.

