(Hope you get a blessing from this series on revival that I wrote for our deaf church a few weeks ago.)

The thoughts that I would like to share with you this week will come from 2 Chronicles 7:14. This is God’s response to Solomon’s prayer at the dedication of the Temple in Jerusalem:

“If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

This morning I would like to focus on the first part of that statement- “If my people, who are called by my name…”

Revival is for God’s people– that is, for Christians. God reserves the promises in this verse for HIS people, they are not promises made to everyone. What does this teach us?

1. We should desire revival. Revival is a renewal of our walk with God. It is a new surrender to God’s desire for our lives. It is a renewing of our commitment to Him.

2. God desires for us to experience revival. The Bible says that God knows our weaknesses, he knows our temptations, he knows that life in this world is not easy. He wants us to come to him and confess our sins and failures so he can fill us with himself.

King David said, “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God? My tears have been my food day and night, while men say to me all day long, “Where is your God?”

These things I remember as I pour out my soul: how I used to go with the multitude, leading the procession to the house of God, with shouts of joy and thanksgiving among the festive throng” (Psalm 42:1-4)

To ‘pant’ means ‘ to desire deeply’- it is like a thirsty man wandering in a desert place- he doesn’t want anything but water. When we get to the place where we desire nothing but God, we will have revival.

Let us each ask ourselves, “Do I desire God more than anything else in my life?” If the true answer is no, then we need revival.

