I confess, I was praying Tiger Wood was sincerely innocent because I hate to see what such things can do to a family and I had hopes he was a little more mature, but the reality of this world falls hard again and again. I was asked why this happened and the answer was pretty simple; idols need to be worshiped and more so when their popularity and success is waning – when humanity begins to replace idolatry. A friend told me that he could not understand why Tiger would have need to look outside of his marriage with such a beautiful wife, but the truth is that his wife – as with any wife – did not see him as a god, but just another human with extraordinary talent. Tiger, like any idol, needed to be worshiped. I do not think this was intentional at all and want to believe Tiger loved his wife and children dearly – I do believe it – but it was his sinful humanity which craved being worshiped. Very few people can handle fame well and very very few people have the level of fame Tiger is trapped in. I pray Tiger will rise again, but the idol will remain fallen – only in Christ is this truly possible.

And Simeon blessed them and said to Mary his mother, “Behold, this child is appointed for the fall and rising of many in Israel, and for a sign that is opposed (and a sword will pierce through your own soul also), so that thoughts from many hearts may be revealed.” (Luke 2:34-35 ESV)

